Skip to content

Murray E. Polakoff Scholarship Fund

The College of Behavioral and Social Sciences established the Murray E. Polakoff Scholarship in June 1998 to provide scholarships to undergraduates majoring in the behavioral and social sciences.

Dr. Murray E. Polakoff (1922-2016) officially became the first Dean of the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences, a position he held from 1986 to 1991.  Prior to the formal establishment of the College, Dr. Polakoff was a Professor in the Department of Economics, and Provost of the Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences (1977-1986).

Well before Be the Solution would come to define BSOS, yet decidedly in line with this mission that characterizes the College, Dr. Polakoff worked to bring about the Centers and initiatives that have made both the College and the University known on the national and international stage as key players for positive social change.

Support This Fund Today!