Skip to content

John N. Lauer Banneker/Key Scholarship

John Lauer

John N. Lauer ’63 was a proud graduate of the A. James Clark School of Engineering, and began his service to the University of Maryland as a member of the Clark School’s Board of Visitors. Though he went on to influence countless other units on campus, Mr. Lauer maintained a strong connection with the Clark School. He was awarded its Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1993 and a Centennial Medal during its 100th Anniversary celebration in 1994. He earned campus-wide honors as the 1998 recipient of the Ralph J. Tyser Medallion (now known as the Tyser Gottwals Award), which is given annually to an alumnus/a for distinguished service to his/her alma mater.

Mr. Lauer served as the first chair of President Kirwan’s Board of Visitors before becoming a founding member of the University of Maryland College Park Foundation Board of Trustees under President Mote and later serving as chair of the board from 2012 to 2014. In 2016, President Loh appointed Mr. Lauer to serve on The Phillips Collection Board of Trustees where he helped to solidify a burgeoning partnership between the Washington-based museum and the University and College Park communities. During his 17 years as a trustee, Mr. Lauer was a committed and visionary leader, co-chairing the Bold Vision Bright Future, Great Expectations and Fearless Ideas campaigns and mentoring new members of the board.

Mr. Lauer established the John N. Lauer Banneker/Key Scholarship in 1997 to support outstanding undergraduate students.

Support This Fund Today!